North Seattle Community College

northseattlelogo.gif

North Seattle Community College will increase student achievement in college level math courses by improving student success in and progress through their pre-college math sequence with the following strategies:

  1. the design and pilot of a year-long cohort model precollege math sequence, entitled ALIGN* for Success, incorporating attributes/study skills focus and culminating in an intermediate algebra course linked to an environment science course. [*ALIGN - Algebra Learning Inquiry Group at North] COHORT PAGE
  2. the reformation of the NSCC precollege math program to focus on the delivery of a contextually-based curriculum. To accomplish this we will develop a learning resource bank of contextually-based interdisciplinary learning activities. RESOURCE BANK PAGE
  3. Incorporation of common core assessments and more formative assessments across precollege math classes. ASSESSMENT PAGE





Faculty Assigned to RPM Projects:












NSCC RPM Website


Denise Brannan
Math Full time Faculty
dbrannan@northseattle.edu
Deanna Li
Math Full time Faculty
dli@sccd.ctc.edu
Michael Gaul
Math Full time Faculty
mgaul@northseattle.edu
Edgar Jasso
Math Full time Faculty
ejasso@northseattle.edu
Ralph Jenne
Math Full time Faculty
rjenne@sccd.ctc.edu
Pam Lippert
Math Full time Faculty
plippert@sccd.ctc.edu
Harry Watts
Math Full time Faculty
hwatts@sccd.ctc.edu
Ben Aschenbrenner
Math Adjunct
baschenbrenner@sccd.ctc.edu
Jennifer DeSoto
Math Adjunct
jdesoto@sccd.ctc.edu
Eileen Murphy
Math Adjunct
emurphy@sccd.ctc.edu
Barbara Goldner
FT Math/Computer Science
bgoldner@northseattle.edu
Betsy Campbell
FT IT/Math
bcampbell@sccd.ctc.edu
Peter Lortz
Dean Math, Science & SS
plortz@sccd.ctc.edu
Gary Gorland
Director, Inst. Initiatives
ggorland@sccd.ctc.edu




Spring 2010 Retreat - Cedarbrook


Summer 2010 Institute - Sleeping Lady