Lower Columbia College has replaced the four self-paced and the four face-to-face pre-college courses with a sequence of 15 one-credit competency modules, adopt a single standards-based textbook for the whole sequence, and create a Math Acheivement Center for student/course support patterned after the college’s successful Learning Commons.


external image smallFirefoxIcon.jpg Books and MyLabsPlus















Brad Benjamin
Faculty
bbenjamin@lcc.ctc.edu
Bryn Bryker
Adjunct faculty
bbryker@lcc.ctc.edu
Carol Flakus
Faculty
cflakus@lcc.ctc.edu
Jeff Lucas
Mathematics Chair
jlucas@lcc.ctc.edu
Terri Skeie
Adjunct Faculty
tskeie@lcc.ctc.edu
Cary Rhode
Faculty
crhode@lcc.ctc.edu
Kyle Hammon
Instructional Dean
khammon@lcc.ctc.edu
Rick Swee
Faculty
rswee@lcc.ctc.edu
Sue Jackson
Adjunct ABE Faculty
sjackson@lcc.ctc.edu
Dawn Draus
Faculty
ddraus@lcc.ctc.edu

Spring Retreat 2010 Vision Exercise



Faculty Assigned to Cross-Cutting Project Work

Overall Project - Dawn Draus
Data Analysis Regarding Student Progress and Achievement- Jeff Lucas
Faculty Inquiry Efforts- Dawn Draus
Classroom/Formative Assessment - Terri Skeie
Classroom Exchange and Observations - Brad Benjamin

Summer Retreat 2010 Synthesis Assignment



"Post-It" Note Key Questions/Comments:

1. What resources are most useful to students? (exit survey?)
2. How much does it cost for students to reach college-level math readiness? (More of an assessment question)
3. How long do students stay in pre-college math? How many repeated attempts required before passing? (More of an assessment question)
4. Are students overwhelmed by the pacing of the course?
5. Are students more successful in the next-in-sequence course? (More of an assessment question)
6. At what point in the sequence do students fail (topic or time)?
7. How can we get students to use the resources we make available?